Sign up for our newsletter! Be the first in line to buy tickets, hear about upcoming events, and receive special discounts.

    Loading Events
    \ The PCSO Spectacular at the Reser
    Portland Columbia Symphony Presents
    The PCSO Spectacular at the Reser
    Portland Columbia Symphony Presents

    The PCSO Spectacular at the Reser

    Date January 28, 2023 7:30pm Pricing $19 – $54


    Steven Byess, conductor
    Alexander Markov, violin
    Jimmie Herrod, special guest vocalist

    A knockout concert event featuring virtuoso soloist Alexander Markov and Special Guest Jimmie Herrod – celebrating our 40th Anniversary and a new chapter for one of the best kept secrets of the Pacific Northwest.

    Portland Columbia Symphony celebrates its 40th Anniversary with a knockout concert event that shows why this dynamic orchestra is so special. With musical selections ranging from Vivaldi to Massenet, from pure classical to rock-symphonic fusion, and featuring acclaimed violin virtuoso Alexander Markov, the PCSO Spectacular at the Reser is no ordinary concert – it is an experience!

    Music Director Steven Byess has put together an evening that showcases an adventurous and musically thrilling perspective on the modern orchestra: respectful of tradition, but risk-taking and unafraid to test boundaries ordinary orchestras avoid. Exquisite musicianship married to a joyful and exuberant love of performing are embodied in guest soloist Alexander Markov, who also provides two works to the concert, both scored for full orchestra and his custom-made six-string gold plated electric violin. With superstar vocalist Jimmie Herrod – know for his appearance with Pink Martini and on TV’s America’s Got Talent – adding in even more…

    Highlights include:

    — Adventures on Earth from E.T. the Extraterrestrial: A real orchestral showpiece by John Williams

    — Meditation from Thaïs one of the most famous and moving pieces for violin and orchestra by Jules Massenet.

    — Caesar: Rock and Roll, Baby! An original work by Alexander Markov scored for his custom-made, six-string, gold-plated electric violin and full orchestra.

    — Capriccio Espagnol: a dynamic and exotic musical depiction of Spain by Russian composer Nicolai Rimsky-Korsakov that highlights the virtuosic principal players of our orchestra and features the entire PCSO!

    Runtime: 100 min. with intermission.

    Portland Chamber Symphony Orchestra COVID-19 Policy

    Buy Tickets